An Unhappy Tenant

This is a wonderfully wry ad from a London paper dated October 1815:

WANTED IMMEDIATELY to enable me to leave the house which I have for these last five years inhabited, in the same plight and condition in which I found it, 500 LIVE RATS for which I will gladly pay the sum of £5 sterling: and as I cannot leave the farm attached thereto in the same order in which I got it,without at least FIVE MILLIONS OF Docks, Dockens [weeds] I do hereby promise a further sum of £5 for said number of Dockens.

NB the rats must be full grown and no cripples.

Leave a Reply

