Beyond Death Do They Part

This is from a church at Lusby from Highways &Byways of Lincolnshire, a small ancient church where:

“Under the communion table is a sepulchral slab with an inscription in old lettering, mostly obliterated, from which the brass tablet has been removed and put up on the wall. It is singular, being a dialogue between a deceased wife and her husband.:

[she]

My fleshe in hope doth rest and slepe

In earth here to remain;

My spirit to Christ I give to kepe

Till I do rise againe.

[He]

And I with you in hope agre

Though I yet here abide;

In full purpose of Goddes will be

To ly doune by your side

Leave a Reply

