Sleep

On Saturday night I paticipated in something that really shows the value of the BBC. They broadcast an 8hour performance of music by Max Richter who also played keyboards, starting at midnight.

I am an incredibly light sleeper, long plagued with noisy neighbours, so was unsure about this. I did wake up – I don’t know how many times, maybe 6 or more each time heard the soothing music, realised all was well in the world, that I was sharing something special with a lot of other people, and drifted off again. I woke to capture the last 1/2 hour or so, as the strings and keyboards gradually faded out. After the announcer congratulated RIchter, another light sleeper, Marcus du Soutoy who had been in the Welcome Institute Reading Room, described how wonderful it had been – the music was not quiet as on my radio, and there were of course other people, some snoring, but he found it really relaxing.

I don’t think I’ve ever felt so good so early on a Sunday morning, though I still felt a bit sleep deprived, but it makes me realise how many types of sleep there are and how many interruptions we can survive.
It was part of a whole weekend of events from the Welcome institute, based on their collection of scientific stuff. Have never really paid much attention to BBC 3 but from now on I may be reaching for the tuner more often.

2 thoughts on “Sleep

Leave a Reply

